Georgia Tech and Professional Education Win Four Regional Awards

October 16, 2015 | By Shamika Hill

Each year, the University Professional and Continuing Education Association (UPCEA) recognizes outstanding performance in professional and continuing education. To celebrate the exceptional activities, people, and programs in institutions in each region, UPCEA accepts nominations for awards in 10 categories.

For the 2015 UPCEA South Region Awards, the winners in four categories are from Georgia Tech and Professional Education. Each winner’s dedication to delivering excellence raises GTPE’s profile in the region and advances its vision and mission to define learning in the 21st century.  

Program of Excellence (Noncredit) Award
The Language Institute Intensive English Program, under the leadership of Karen Tucker, director, was selected for the Program of Excellence (Noncredit) Award for exemplifying the best in instructional design and effectiveness in meeting an educational need, while improving the quality of teaching and learning.

Continuing Education Faculty Award
Wayne Whiteman, Ph.D., from the Woodruff College of Mechanical Engineering, who teaches four massive open online courses (MOOCs) on Coursera at GTPE, was selected for the Continuing Education Faculty Award for his contribution to continuing education.

Emerging Continuing Education Leader Award
Laura Haynes, Ph.D., is the winner of the Emerging Continuing Education Leader Award in recognition of her courageous decision-making, clarity of vision, and promotion of values and ethics in her role as assistant director of operations at GTPE.

Continuing Education Student (Credit) Award
Bobbie Eicher, an Online Master of Science in Computer Science (OMS CS) student in the College of Computing, is the winner of the Continuing Education Student (Credit) Award for her tenacious pursuit of lifelong learning.

GTPE wins several notable UPCEA awards each year, but this year is the first time the unit has been recognized for faculty and program awards. This new acknowledgement reflects its commitment to transform education and optimize the learning experience for non-traditional learners.